London SE1 website team

Judge Usha Karu appointed as Recorder of Southwark

Southwark councillors have voted unanimously that Her Honour Judge Usha Karu - senior resident judge at Inner London Crown Court - should be given the honorary title Recorder of Southwark.

Despite occasional rumours of closures and mergers, Southwark boasts three crown courts within its boundaries: Blackfriars Crown Court, Inner London Crown Court and Southwark Crown Court.

The senior judge at Southwark Crown Court carries the title Recorder of Westminster.

The tradition that the senior judge at Inner London Crown Court in Newington Causeway should be known as the Recorder of Southwark dates from 2011.

HHJ Roger Chapple, who retired last year, was the first Recorder of Southwark.

His role as senior judge at Inner London Crown Court has been taken by HHJ Usha Karu.

In 2005 she was one of the first female Asians to be appointed as a circuit judge.

The appointment of HHJ Karu as Recorder of Southwark will be formally recognised at a future civic ceremony.

The SE1 website is supported by people like you

This article on a map


Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from:

Proud to belong to

Independent Community News Network