Theatre

What's on at SE1's many theatres; West End and fringe; professional and amateur.

Theatre by venue

Theatre by date

Wednesday 1 March 2017 to Saturday 25 March 2017
The Diary of a Teenage Girl at Southwark Playhouse
Based on the graphic novel by Phoebe Gloeckner
Tuesday 14 March 2017 to Saturday 25 March 2017
Threesome at Union Theatre
Adult comedy by Jamie Patterson
Sunday 26 March 2017
Doktor James' Academy of Evil at Draper Hall
Family show and meal
Friday 17 February 2017 to Saturday 1 April 2017
A Midsummer Night's Dream at Young Vic
Joe Hill-Gibbins returns with a nightmarish take on Shakespeare's Dream
Thursday 16 March 2017 to Saturday 1 April 2017
The Principle of Uncertainty at Draper Hall
London premiere of this one-woman show
Wednesday 22 March 2017 to Saturday 1 April 2017
The Bear/The Proposal at Young Vic
Two one act Chekhov plays
Thursday 26 January 2017 to Sunday 16 April 2017
The White Devil at Shakespeare's Globe
John Webster's The White Devil, directed by Annie Ryan.
Thursday 23 February 2017 to Sunday 16 April 2017
Othello at Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Ellen McDougall
Friday 10 March 2017 to Thursday 20 April 2017
Love In Idleness at Menier Chocolate Factory
Directed by Trevor Nunn
Friday 24 March 2017 to Saturday 22 April 2017
Montagues and Capulets at The CoLab Factory
Immersive theatre
Wednesday 29 March 2017 to Saturday 22 April 2017
Honk! at Union Theatre
Hans Christian Andersen's The Ugly Duckling reimagined
Wednesday 29 March 2017 to Saturday 22 April 2017
Natives at Southwark Playhouse
Boundless Theatre
Thursday 6 April 2017 to Saturday 22 April 2017
The Elephant Girls at Draper Hall
The gripping story of the all-female gang which terrorised London for over 100 years
Saturday 25 February 2017 to Saturday 29 April 2017
Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead at The Old Vic
Starring Daniel Radcliffe, Joshua McGuire and David Haig
Saturday 25 March 2017 to Saturday 29 April 2017
The Life at Southwark Playhouse
UK premiere
Wednesday 15 February 2017 to Saturday 13 May 2017
Twelfth Night at National Theatre
Tamsin Greig is a transformed Malvolia
Tuesday 2 May 2017 to Saturday 13 May 2017
Nell Gwynn at Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Daniel Kramer
Thursday 30 March 2017 to Saturday 20 May 2017
Miss Nightingale the musical at The Vaults
Prejudice, passion and debauchery during the dark days of World War Two
Wednesday 26 April 2017 to Saturday 27 May 2017
The Cardinal at Southwark Playhouse
James Shirley's tragic masterpiece
Saturday 6 May 2017 to Saturday 24 June 2017
Woyzeck at The Old Vic
Starring John Boyega
Saturday 6 May 2017 to Saturday 24 June 2017
Life of Galileo by Bertolt Brecht at Young Vic
BAFTA winner Joe Wright directs
Wednesday 31 May 2017 to Saturday 24 June 2017
The Island at Southwark Playhouse
South African political drama
Tuesday 13 June 2017 to Saturday 24 June 2017
Tristan & Yseult at Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Emma Rice
Friday 2 June 2017 to Saturday 8 July 2017
Working at Southwark Playhouse
European premiere
Saturday 22 April 2017 to Sunday 9 July 2017
Romeo and Juliet at Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Daniel Kramer
Tuesday 2 May 2017 to Saturday 15 July 2017
Salome at National Theatre
Salome in a new version by Yael Farber
Wednesday 5 July 2017 to Saturday 15 July 2017
Taha at Young Vic
Story of Palestinian poet
Sunday 28 May 2017 to Saturday 22 July 2017
The Superhero at Southwark Playhouse
World premiere of a brand new one-man musical
Wednesday 19 July 2017 to Saturday 29 July 2017
Nina A story about me and Nina Simone at Young Vic
Performed with a live band
Thursday 18 May 2017 to Saturday 5 August 2017
Twelfth Night at Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Emma Rice
Wednesday 26 July 2017 to Thursday 31 August 2017
Yerma by Simon Stone after Federico Garca Lorca at Young Vic
Starring Billy Piper
Friday 8 September 2017 to Sunday 1 October 2017
Boudica at Shakespeare's Globe
The world premiere of Tristan Bernays' new play
Monday 10 July 2017 to Saturday 7 October 2017
Girl From the North Country at The Old Vic
Duluth, Minnesota in the midst of the Great Depression
Thursday 10 August 2017 to Saturday 14 October 2017
King Lear at Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Nancy Meckler
Friday 14 July 2017 to Sunday 15 October 2017
Much Ado About Nothing at Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Globe Associate Director Matthew Dunster
Thursday 14 September 2017 to Saturday 28 October 2017
Wings by Arthur Kopit at Young Vic
Starring Julia Stevenson
Sunday 15 October 2017 to Sunday 5 November 2017
The Lorax at The Old Vic
Dr Seuss tale adapted for the stage by David Greig with music and lyrics by Charlie Fink
Monday 13 November 2017 to Saturday 25 November 2017
The Suppliant Women at Young Vic
Community chorus
Wednesday 22 November 2017 to Saturday 2 December 2017
Yellowman at Young Vic
Set in South Carolina in the 1970s
Thursday 30 November 2017 to Saturday 23 December 2017
How To Win Against History at Young Vic
Edinburgh Festival hit musical

Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from: