London SE1 community website

Bermondsey & Old Southwark: Labour’s Neil Coyle re-elected

James Hatts

Neil Coyle has been re-elected as Bermondsey & Old Southwark's Labour MP, seeing off an attempt by Lib Dem Sir Simon Hughes to wrest back his former seat.

Neil Coyle
Neil Coyle pictured during the election campaign
Bermondsey & Old Southwark: Labour’s Neil Coyle re-elected
L-R: John Tyson (Green); Sir Simon Hughes (Lib Dem); Neil Coyle (Labour); James Clarke (independent); Siobhan Baillie (Conservative)

Neil Coyle retained the seat with a majority of 12,972, having first taken office two years ago with a 4,489 lead over the Liberal Democrats.

The result was announced by the returning officer, Cllr Charlie Smith, the Mayor of Southwark, shortly before 5am.

Turnout was 67 per cent, compared to 61.7 per cent at the last general election in 2015.

Full result

Neil Coyle (Labour) – 31,161
Simon Hughes (Liberal Democrat) – 18,189
Siobhan Baillie (Conservative) – 7,581
Elizabeth Jones (UKIP) – 838
John Tyson (Green) – 639
James Clarke (independent) – 113

Listen to audio
The SE1 website is supported by people like you
We are part of
Independent Community News Network
Email newsletter

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,000+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up

News archive from February 1999 to January 2001
Got a story for us?
Contact us with your tip-offs and story ideas.