London SE1 community website

Shake-up for Southwark and Lambeth’s NHS governance

London SE1 website team

The clinical commissioning groups that oversee NHS provision in Lambeth and Southwark have been merged into a new body covering six boroughs in South East London.

Shake-up for Southwark and Lambeth’s NHS governance

The merger of the clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) for Bexley, Bromley, Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham and Southwark took effect on Tuesday 1 April.

It's just seven years since CCGs were established in each borough to replace the previous primary care trusts.

The new NHS South East London CCG – overseeing care for a population of 1.9 million – has its base at Southwark Council's offices at 160 Tooley Street.

It is chaired by Southwark GP Jonty Heaversedge and the chief officer is Andrew Bland, formerly of NHS Southwark CCG.

Borough-based boards will be set up in each of the six local authority areas under the new CCG to provide local accountability.

The SE1 website is supported by people like you
We are part of
Independent Community News Network
Email newsletter

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,000+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up

News archive from February 1999 to January 2001
Got a story for us?
Contact us with your tip-offs and story ideas.